Apple may soon exceed its self-imposed goal of bringing Apple Pay to a total of 40 countries by the end of 2019 because European mobile bank Monese announced today it’s going to bring Apple Pay to its cardholders in a bunch of countries located in Eastern Europe.

According to Monese’s tweet, Apple Pay will soon be available to customers in:

  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Estonia
  • Greece
  • Lithuania
  • Liechtenstein
  • Latvia
  • Malta
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia

Apple Pay is currently available in 37 markets, according to the iOS Feature Availability webpage that breaks down, among other things, the service’s availability by region.

The secure mobile payments service recently arrived in Iceland, Austria, Czech Republic and Saudi Arabia. Aside from the aforementioned countries, Apple Pay will be hitting Luxembourg, The Netherlands and Hungary for a total of 16 upcoming countries.

Just recently, the mobile payments service announced support for online payments for certain British government services, like UK’s Global Entry Service.

Last but not least, later this year Apple Pay will be picking up some really cool features, like loyalty cards in the Wallet app and the ability to read specially-encoded NFC tags to pay for things like electric scooters without having to use or download any third-party app whatsoever.

To me, the biggest news is the arrival of Apple Pay to my home country of Croatia.